One of the things I missed most when I started keep kosher was JELLO. Ooey, gooey, jiggly jello. Mmm, mmm, good. And totally, totally not kosher. A few years later, I discovered a REAL and delicious brand of kosher gelatin, which we used to buy often enough in Toronto to keep me happy. However, here in Israel, there’s no such thing, just the insipid brands of kosher jello, which are based on vegetable gel and don’t – in my limited experience – set up properly to a shiny crystal-clear texture. So I’ve started playing with real gelatin since we’ve been here, because it’s cheap and plentifully available – and, as I think I’ve commented before, mysteriously pareve. There are two kinds; the red package is meat-source and the blue is fish-source. From bad experience in Toronto, I’ve found that fish gelatin gives a weird tangy taste to everything you use it in. This would probably be fine in a citrus-themed dessert (as shown on the box), but definitely not fine in a chocolaty
Day 552: I’m Obsolete.
16 hours ago